Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

How many time zones are there in the continental United States?

Question #14242. Asked by Maggie.

Answer has 5 votes
Currently Best Answer
22 year member
1331 replies

Answer has 5 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.

The 48 contiguous States have four zones (Eastern, Central, Mountain and Pacific). Alaska, which is also on the Continent, has a fifth time zone.

Oct 18 2001, 1:24 AM
Yaarbiriah star
Answer has 4 votes
Yaarbiriah star
20 year member
107 replies avatar

Answer has 4 votes.
Eastern (GMT - 5 hours), Central, Mountain, Pacific, and Alaskan. Hawaii is situated in yet another time zone which is two hours earlier than pacific. (GMT -10 hours)

Apr 25 2007, 4:25 PM
MonkeyOnALeash star
Answer has 4 votes
MonkeyOnALeash star

Answer has 4 votes.
There exists some "sub time zones" as well.

"Arizona does not observe Daylight Saving Time. This means that in Arizona we never change our clocks like most of the rest of the country does. Other areas in the U.S. that don't observe Daylight Saving Time are Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands. In Arizona, we just don't need another hour of sunlight!"


Nov 13 2007, 9:55 AM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion