Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

Which of the World Series were more than seven games?

Question #148231. Asked by serpa.
Last updated Jan 03 2021.
Originally posted Jan 03 2021 4:27 AM.

looney_tunes star
Answer has 3 votes
looney_tunes star
18 year member
3284 replies avatar

Answer has 3 votes.
This depends on whether you recognise 19th century championship series as being World Series or not. In those years, there were a number of times when the championship involved more than seven games.

Until the formation of the American Association in 1882 as a second major league, the National Association of Professional Base Ball Players (1871-1875) and then the National League (founded 1876) represented the top level of organized baseball in the United States. All championships were awarded to the team with the best record at the end of the season, without a postseason series being played. From 1884 to 1890, the National League and the American Association faced each other in a series of games at the end of the season to determine an overall champion. These series were disorganized in comparison to the modern World Series, with the terms arranged through negotiation of the owners of the championship teams beforehand. The number of games played ranged from as few as three in 1884 (Providence defeated New York three games to zero), to a high of fifteen in 1887 (Detroit beat St. Louis ten games to five). Both the 1885 and 1890 Series ended in ties, each team having won three games with one tie game.[5]

The series was promoted and referred to as "The Championship of the United States",[6][7] "World's Championship Series", or "World's Series" for short. In his book Krakatoa: The Day the World Exploded: August 27, 1883, Simon Winchester mentions in passing that the World Series was named for the New York World newspaper,[8] but this view is disputed.[9]

The 19th-century competitions are, however, not officially recognized as part of World Series history by Major League Baseball, as it considers 19th-century baseball to be a prologue to the modern baseball era.

MLB currently considers only championships played from 1903 on as being World Series events.


Response last updated by looney_tunes on Jan 03 2021.
Jan 03 2021, 4:53 AM
Answer has 6 votes
Currently Best Answer
16 year member
2369 replies

Answer has 6 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
1912 was eight games. Game 2 was a tie. Red Sox 4 games; Yankees 3 games.

1919 was eight games. Reds 5 games; White Sox 3 games.

1921 went eight games. NY Giants 5 games; NY Yankees 3 games.

1903, 1919-1921 were best-of-nine.


Response last updated by gtho4 on Jan 03 2021.
Jan 03 2021, 12:26 PM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion