Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

Twelve counties in the U.S. are named after which politician and lawyer known as the "Little Giant?"

Question #148251. Asked by serpa.
Last updated Jan 17 2021.
Originally posted Jan 17 2021 12:27 AM.

looney_tunes star
Answer has 2 votes
looney_tunes star
18 year member
3275 replies avatar

Answer has 2 votes.
They are named after Stephen A. Douglas, who was a senator from Illinois and one of two Democratic candidates for the presidency of the USA against Abraham Lincoln in 1860.


The two had previously contested the 1858 race to represent Illinois in the US Senate, a contest that featured a famous series of debates, and which was won by Douglas.
Douglas was nicknamed the "Little Giant" because he was short in physical stature but a forceful and dominant figure in politics.


Jan 17 2021, 2:48 AM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion