Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

There are eleven official languages of South Africa, but which other African country has sixteen of them?

Question #148566. Asked by pehinhota.
Last updated Jul 17 2021.
Originally posted Jul 16 2021 3:01 PM.

Answer has 5 votes
Currently Best Answer
4 year member
27 replies

Answer has 5 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
The Republic of Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe's 2013 constitution ensures that no fewer than 16 languages enjoy special status. This also means that the Zimbabwe holds the Guinness World Record for the country with the largest number of official languages.

Here they are, in no particular order:

Chewa(or Chichewa), Chibarwe, English, Kalanga, Koisan, Nambya, Ndau, isiNdebele(Ndebele), Shangani, Shona, sign language(Zimbabwean and American), Sotho(SeSotho), Tonga, SeTswana, Venda(Tshivenda), and Xhosa(or isiXhosa).


Response last updated by Sankara92 on Jul 16 2021.
Jul 16 2021, 3:42 PM
Answer has 1 vote
22 year member
956 replies

Answer has 1 vote.
If this means that all official documents have to be printed in all sixteen languages, no wonder the economy is in a poor state!

Jul 17 2021, 3:28 AM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion