Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

What were the two states that never ratified the 18th Amendment (Prohibition) to the US Constitution?

Question #3444. Asked by Rachael.
Last updated Aug 20 2016.

Answer has 7 votes
Currently Best Answer
23 year member
3694 replies avatar

Answer has 7 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
Congress voted for Prohibition in the end of 1917. The amendment got the necessary votes in both houses of Congress. Even then, the wets were confident that the Eighteenth Amendment would not be ratified by the thirty-six necessary states in the limited time of seven years. However, much to the people's surprise, the amendment was ratified in only thirteen months. Only Connecticut and Rhode Island did not ratify it.



Found one more, don't know how reliable the site is.

South Carolina did not ratify the 18th Amendment.

Response last updated by looney_tunes on Aug 20 2016.
Mar 05 2004, 7:50 PM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion