Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

Missouri has had three state capitals. Why?

Question #75252. Asked by sjhodges825.

zbeckabee star
Answer has 4 votes
Currently Best Answer
zbeckabee star
18 year member
11752 replies avatar

Answer has 4 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
Most likely out of convenience.

"When the Missouri Territory was organized in 1812, St. Louis was the seat of government. St. Charles served as the capital until Jefferson City was chosen as the new capital in 1821. In 1821 Jefferson City was known as Lohman's Landing."


Jan 31 2007, 12:37 PM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion