Join FunTrivia for Free: Hourly trivia games, quizzes, community, and more!
Fun Trivia
Ask FunTrivia: Questions and Answers
Answers to 100,000 Fascinating Questions
Welcome to FunTrivia's Question & Answer forum!

Search All Questions

Please cite any factual claims with citation links or references from authoritative sources. Editors continuously recheck submissions and claims.

Archived Questions

Goto Qn #

What do the first seven gifts of the 'Twelve Days of Christmas' have in common --- "They're all birds." How are "five golden rings" considered birds?

Question #9337. Asked by Julie.

Answer has 1 vote
23 year member
266 replies

Answer has 1 vote.
The 5 Gold RING-NECKED PHEASANTs are the birds referred to. 5 Golden Rings symbolize the first Five Books of the Old Testament or The Catholic Church's five obligatory sacraments: baptism, communion, confirmation, penance and last rites.

Jan 05 2001, 2:38 AM
Professor101 star
Answer has 13 votes
Currently Best Answer
Professor101 star avatar

Answer has 13 votes.

Currently voted the best answer.
According to the website link, the five rings were indeed a reference to ring-necked pheasants, not because of a Biblical reference, but because the word "ring" had many meanings, including this shortened form of ring-necked pheasants.

Nov 14 2010, 3:52 PM
free email trivia FREE! Get a new mixed Fun Trivia quiz each day in your email. It's a fun way to start your day!

arrow Your Email Address:

Sign in or Create Free User ID to participate in the discussion